



2017-2018 Annual Report





TABLE OF CONTENTS

About Us: Who We Are	4
2017-18 Council and Staff	6
President and Executive Director Message Reports	7
Public Representative	10 11 12 13 15
Strategic Planning Update	16
Membership Profile Data	17
Financial Statements	22





Who We Are

The Saskatchewan College of Respiratory Therapists (SCRT) was established on April 1, 2009 when *The Respiratory Therapists Act* was read in the Saskatchewan legislature.

The Act is very clear in defining the SCRT's duties and objects of the college. Section 4(1) states:

- It is the duty of the college at all times
 - (a) to serve and protect the public
 - (b) to exercise its powers and discharge its responsibilities in the public interest and not in the interests of the members
- The objects of the college are:
 - (a) to regulate the practice of the profession and to govern the members in accordance with this Act and the bylaws, and
 - (b) to assure the public of the knowledge, skill, proficiency, and competency of members in the practice of respiratory therapy

The college carries out these duties by ensuring its members are qualified, competent, and follow defined standards of practice and ethics.

The college is responsible for dealing with any complaints from the public, patients, or members of the college, and can take action if a member is found to be practicing in a manner that is incompetent, unethical, illegal or impaired by alcohol drugs or illness.

The title of Registered Respiratory Therapist is a protected term and all Respiratory Therapists practising in Saskatchewan must be licensed with the SCRT.

The College operates with a Mission, Vision and Set of Values as follows:

MISSION

The Saskatchewan College of Respiratory Therapists exists to ensure that the public receives safe, competent and ethical care by a regulated and continually advancing profession

VISION

The Saskatchewan College of Respiratory Therapists is a future-focused, responsive, collaborative regulator committed to excellence in practice and to accountability to the public.

VALUES

Respect, Integrity, Fairness, Accountability, Collaboration, Professionalism

2017- 18 Council and Staff

Council Members

President
Past President
Secretary
Treasurer
Director at Large Southern Chapter

Michelle Holodniuk BSc RRT (elected 09/ 2016) Sheldon Fizzard RRT (until 09/2018) Adele Sirois RRT (elected 09/2017) Anil Sarkar (until 09/2018) Tracey LaSaga RRT (until 09/2018) Kristina Vargo RRT (elected 09/2018)

Public Representatives

Director at Large Northern Chapter

Public Representative Public Representative Jan Frayling (outgoing; until 05/2018) Bob Friedrich (appointed 06/2017)

<u>Staff</u>

Executive Director/Registrar Administrative Assistant

Win Haines BA, RT, RCPT Ardis Monarchi

Committees

Professional Conduct Committee (PCC)

Trevor Tessier RRT Chair Scott Downey RRT Chris Grant RRT Sheldon Hrynowetsky RRT

Public Representative (outgoing): Jan Frayling

Discipline Committee (DC)

Scott McCrae RRT Chair Angela Barsalou RRT Matthew Harrison RRT Candi Thompson RRT

Public Representative: Bob Friedrich

Continuing Education Committee (CEC)

Shelly Filippi RRT Co-chair
Angela Barsalou RRT Co-chair
Laurie Kubick RRT
Marvin Nicklas RRT
Kristin Underhill RRT
Teresa Wasend RRT
Karla Zimmer RRT
Win Haines (ED) Ad-hoc member

